Roasted Garlic, Chicken & Herb White Pizza

I’m excited y’all. You want to know why?
1. My best friend comes home exactly one week from today from her 4 week stay in Nicaragua. I am so proud of her for going, but that’s a long time to to be away from your best friend!

2. This weekend, some girlfriends and I are going to see Matchbox 20 and the Goo Goo Dolls! I’ve been looking forward to this for months and it’s finally almost time!

3. We’re leaving for a 6 day vacation to Orlando in exactly 34 days. I love Orlando. And Universal just opened their new Transformers ride.

Now something you should be excited about. This pizza! (I’m taking no credit for this recipe. I found it on Pinterest, here is the link! http://dinnersdishesanddesserts.com/roasted-garlic-chicken-herb-white-pizza-sundaysupper/)

Roasted-Garlic-Chicken-and-Herb-White-Pizza-2-labeled

This recipe caught my eye about a month ago, and I’ve been looking forward to making it. Sunday I overslept(and also set my alarm for PM instead of AM) and I decided I was going to make this for lunch. I’d bought all the ingredients for it, but just hadn’t had the time to make it yet. I decided to make myself a cup of coffee, and watch a movie on our new TV before preheating the oven to roast the garlic.

Well, when I got up to pour myself another cup of coffee & turn the oven on, I was greeted by this.

20130730-102258.jpg

I’ve only heard of this happening to people, never experienced it myself. And I freaked out. You see, Friday hubs was off of work and decided to do some cleaning. We have this thing that sits on top of our sink and hold our dish scrubbing brush. In the almost 2 years we’ve lived in our apartment, it hasn’t been run through the dishwasher, just washed in the sink. So he decided to put it in the dishwasher, not realizing that the bottom of it was full of dish soap.

When I started my pot of coffee that morning, I’d also decided to run the dishwasher. HA! I find it funny now, but when i was on my knees, using all of our towels to mop up hot water and tons of suds, I was not a happy camper.

This pizza though, totally made up for all of that. Creamy roasted garlic in a white sauce, with chicken and cheese. What more do you need? You can follow the link above to get the recipe.

I would make a few changes – I’d use less flour in the sauce, I felt like it was very flour-y. It was still delicious! Me, being a garlic lover, would add more garlic next time. I also added some pesto, after I spread the sauce on the pizza, and that was delicious!

Try it and see what you think!

P.s. to roast the garlic: Take one head of garlic & peel away the outer skin. Cut about 1/2 inch of the top off, exposing the tops of the cloves. Place in a muffin tin, and drizzle olive oil over the top (about a tablespoon). Bake at 400 for 25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

